Excellence in All Things

April 30, 2010

I desire to be the best.  Plain and simple.  The greatest, the man, the most awesome, the most awesome greatest person that ever existed.

Man, glad I got that off my chest.

My wife made a little comment to me yesterday that smacked me in the face (I hate it when Jesus uses her to show me things that are right in front of my face, I would rather Him use a complete stranger).

She said, “You know, you are always saying ‘do your best, be the best, out work everyone else, ask Jesus for something amazing'”  The list could go on.  Then she told me that I expect the absolute best out of myself with everything except in class.  I am perfectly fine with a B.  That is pretty much my goal. 

Not an A, but a B.

I asked myself why this was.  I came up with–it is not worth the extra time and effort to receive that A.  That’s it.  Not that I couldn’t do it, but I just don’t want to put forth the effort.

What part of your life are you settling for a B because you just don’t want to produce the effort necessary to get that A?

Leave a comment